Thread: Welding, Lathes Mills and Machinery - advice, notes and experiences

Welding, Lathes Mills and Machinery - advice, notes and experiences

I know that a few of us are interested in machinery for our hobbies - though a little collation of experiences might be beneficial.

I recently bought a 1964 Boxford 4.5" AUD long bed screw cutting lathe.

I paid over the odds from a dealer so I would hopefully have a nice hassle free freshly loved working machine
    Turns out that that wasn't the case and If i'd done it again I'd go looking for a cheaper bargain and do any resto work myself. As it happens the shopping experience that I went though was utterly rank, but that's not for here.

I went with a Boxford as the Myfords i looked at all seemed a little bit toy town - and trashing them looked easy.

My Boxford has a powered feed - I considered this very helpful for me to get a nice finish (as i'm a newb)
    As it happens i was concerned about metric vs imperial, but I havent yet done any screw cutting so i guess that doenst matter too much. A couple of cogs in the gear box can convert between

I have held back on getting a lathe for some time as I though transportation would be horrible and I didn't know what to look out for. Actually worked out really easy to load/ unload onto a small trailer with an engine hoist

Other things I have since considered - hiring tail lift van.

Anyway - share your experiences here

So far I like Glanze tools and these tips:
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/CCMT-0602...53.m2749.l2649

And so far comyur is gash,
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/MGEHR1212...53.m2749.l2649

I’ve totalled two parting tools already, Banggood crap.

Did they bend at the bottom? I did manage to straighten one in the vice and went back at it tentatively

I'm currently rigging up a coolant tank. I always use aerosol when doing tapping and drilling but it goes fast on teh lathe!

I need a little tank next, was thinking a small cold water tank