Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: 230v to 415v black magic

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    in wiffy viral quarantine
    Posts
    15,587

    230v to 415v black magic

    Has anyone got any experience of running 3phase on a 13/16amp supply?

    Looking at old machinery, seems you get a lot more for your money with proper electricity....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    lewes east sussex
    Posts
    1,716
    You mean using a converter?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    in wiffy viral quarantine
    Posts
    15,587
    inverter or converter yes

  4. #4
    I would steer clear or converters personally, but if they are motor driven like old lathes etc. you can just fit a 240v motor.

    Or speak to your electric co to see if you can have 3 phase installed

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    in wiffy viral quarantine
    Posts
    15,587
    Quote Originally Posted by Al View Post
    I would steer clear or converters personally,
    for why? it kind of seems like a black magic to me

    Quote Originally Posted by Al View Post
    you can just fit a 240v motor.
    I have been wondering if, in an old lathe this is almost sensible - 2018 tech rather than 1970s....

    Quote Originally Posted by Al View Post
    Or speak to your electric co to see if you can have 3 phase installed
    £££££££

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    13,785
    Bloke a few houses down has had one for years to run his lathe and milling machine. No problems as yet.
    That's not gonna happen though, coz your a prick! And I'll stay here just to annoy the fuck out of you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Shropshire
    Posts
    1,567
    I guess it just depends how much current your 3 phase machine is going to be drawing. Some simple P = IV and V = IR calculations should let you know if you can power it from a 13A socket transformed

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Shropshire
    Posts
    1,567
    Seeing as I'm bored on the ferry

    13 x 230 = roughly 3kW

    3000 / 415 = 7.2A, not all that much current.

    If you wanted to jigger it you could instal a 16A plug for a bit more juice

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Shropshire
    Posts
    1,567
    Disclaimer: My understanding of electricity is elementary at best, I'm sure someone wiser will be along to point out how wrong I am

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by 13 View Post
    for why? it kind of seems like a black magic to me

    HEAT!!

    You overload it and you will be explaining to the insurance co. why your house is all burnt and charred!

    Just the same with anything, if your going to do it, do right. Not some frugal Heath Robinson approach.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    in wiffy viral quarantine
    Posts
    15,587
    I could get an old fridge to keep it in....

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by 13 View Post
    I could get an old fridge to keep it in....
    Thats what the bloke in Grenfell Tower said

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •