Thread: Glow Plugs

Glow Plugs

Can anyone advice me what size spanner is needed to remove glow plugs from a 1.9 diesel MK2 caddy with the basic 1y non turbo engine ?

Van became hard to start in last month since weather turned cold
    Last night I sprayed 4D40 allover the the glow plugs in the hope of freeing up both the engine threads and the tiny electrical tip threads
    Van wouldn't fire at all this morning even, not even once, althought it kept turning over, I even tried to jump start it, no look.
    Could the WD40 have stopped it from starting or did the final glowplug just ?
    give up?

Im not an expert on the 1Y but i would check the plugs are getting power first.

another common issue is the leak off pipes letting in air. They are worth replacing at around £3
    The fuel gets hot with use then cools overnight the tank then sucks in a bit as its not open to the atmosphere the leak off pipes seem to be the weak link.
    Many of the lads have sorted cold start issues by swapping them.

Iv'e fitted a tell tale light to my glow plug harness on my 53 plate tdi and it seems the air temp needs to be below around 4C before the plugs activate before starting.
    So on a slightly milder day it should start regardless.

I took wire from positive battery terminal to beginning of glow plug chain when I had issues with relay. Started right up.

Now I'm putting push monetary switch and Ford starter silinoid to power glow plugs.

heat makes holes bigger? So get engine warm.

My previous van had a motorbike solenoid connected to the glow plugs with a push button, I connected it to the relay output so it could work from the ecu output.
    I guess they did this to save changing the ignition switch.......It had a button also....

Hi Thanks ScotClayShooter, I changed the 4 glow plugs today, two of the old ones were measuring open circuit (dead), the other were measuring fine, (but I am wondering could they have been intermittent)