Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 160

Thread: Time to finally upgrade my Mk1 Caddy

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Arundel
    Posts
    361

    Time to finally upgrade my Mk1 Caddy

    I have been waiting to get on my mates 4poster for a while now and today was finally they day that happened.
    Managed to pull the engine out and a few other bits ready for the vr lump that i have.
    heres a few pics to get you started.
    IMG_1326.jpg
    IMG_1328.jpg
    IMG_1335.jpg
    IMG_1331.jpg
    IMG_1334.jpg

    now I do have one question, while we were pulling the vr down we noticed that the ecu has been taken,
    i can I just buy another one and plug it in? its an obd1 ??

    cheers for any help

    regards

    Michael
    Last edited by Mike.F; 30-06-2017 at 11:05 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    North Wales
    Posts
    1,370
    Have you not heard the vr run???? I did that with the vr i did my caddy conversion with. ended up being a pain.
    But for what you paid its worth a go
    Life is just a game we play!!

    My build http://www.vwcaddy.com/showthread.ph...er-cover-caddy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Arundel
    Posts
    361
    it was a mates vr, and it was running before it got left.
    it looks in a bad state cos it was robbed of everything while is was sat in his yard.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    North Wales
    Posts
    1,370
    Nice one. Much easier
    Life is just a game we play!!

    My build http://www.vwcaddy.com/showthread.ph...er-cover-caddy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    worthing
    Posts
    4,305
    I'm pretty sure that the clocks-ecu-key are all joined together as one. So you need all those. You can easily get all those bits from another VR though so not a big deal

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Arundel
    Posts
    361
    I'll be using the mk1 dash etc.

  7. #7
    Immobilisers are not tied into the clocks on these. Early VRs didnt (pre 8/95) even have an immob. Easiest way to tell is but pulling the steering column shroud off to see if it has the black plastic key reader ring around the ignition switch

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    worthing
    Posts
    4,305
    Ah there you go even easier! Is that engine free? Looks very corroded on the manifold and rocker cover. You going to rebuild it before you put it in? If you need any bits or help give me a nod as I'm only down the road.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Arundel
    Posts
    361
    the idea is to build the car up and have all the fab work done then pull it all back down again so that my mate can paint it and I will tidy up the engine etc. And I checked the engine and it turns over lovely. It does look alot worse than it is lol.
    Al its a 93 so an early one. Do you keep the engine mounts on the shelf?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Arundel
    Posts
    361
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/111971146940

    Would this be ok to use? i notice its the auto one whether that makes much difference?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Arundel
    Posts
    361
    i little more work done tonight, have decided to sort out all the rust on the caddy before we test fit the engine etc.
    IMG_1369.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Mike.F; 22-11-2016 at 12:25 AM.

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike.F View Post
    Al its a 93 so an early one. Do you keep the engine mounts on the shelf?
    Hmmm.... Sorta! PM me and we can discuss it

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike.F View Post
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/111971146940

    Would this be ok to use? i notice its the auto one whether that makes much difference?
    No, you need a manual ECU, but some crossover, that one is the gearbox controller not engine anyway, also it has to be from the same type obd1 as yours, ie. either coilpack or dizzy. If you put up the chassis number, we should be able to determine what part number ecu you need from ETKA
    Last edited by Al; 22-11-2016 at 11:21 AM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Arundel
    Posts
    361
    Hi Al,
    heres the chassis no.
    IMG_1378.jpg
    its running coilpack
    Last edited by Mike.F; 22-11-2016 at 11:01 PM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Arundel
    Posts
    361
    sorry about the pictures, i'll download from the computer next time and not my phone

  15. #15
    Looks like you need part number 021906258AF which was replaced with 021997258X so either will do it

  16. #16

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Arundel
    Posts
    361
    Cheers Al,

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Hereford
    Posts
    241
    Re the manifolds and other bits, have you considered vapour blasting . I do this part time . ( I am not touting for work ) I am busy with what I do but a lot of people still don't know what can be achieved with the process. You should find someone closer to you but look at my website to see what it's all about ....
    http://www.atmvapourblasting.co.uk/

    also on facebook , https://www.facebook.com/atmvapourbl...eford/?fref=ts

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Arundel
    Posts
    361
    quick update: what on the outside seemed like a good caddy has actually hus buckets of fibre glass thrown at it in the foot wells and the sills, so now its a case of cut cut and recut.
    the previous owner was a c&@t
    IMG_1420.jpg
    IMG_1422.jpg
    IMG_1424.jpg
    but trying to keep smilling and know it'll be worth it in the end
    onwards and upwards

  20. #20
    Dont feel to bad, many have been lashed over the years

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •