Page 1 of 23 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Thread: My first project

My First Project

So following on from my posts in the intro forum I finally have my first project home;
    IMG_0927.jpgIMG_0925.jpgIMG_0923.jpgIMG_0920.jpgIMG_0918.jpg

Usual scabs hidden under the mud as per. Just to get any idea anyone have any idea how much it would cost to have these bits sorted professionally? I don't intend for this to be a chequebook build but I have very little welding knowledge and I'm sure I'd make a hash of it!

Thanks, Fuus
    Last edited by fuus; 02-02-2016 at 05:39 PM.

Looks tidy!

Difficult to say really, it would depend on the person doing the work and how much they deem necessary to hack out, and also what kind of finish they do afterwards

Is it likely to be £500+? Is it a viable option to wire brush, primer / top coat and leave it for a few more years? How much of a problem am I looking at?

Quote Originally Posted by fuus View Post
    Is it likely to be £500+? Is it a viable option to wire brush, primer / top coat and leave it for a few more years? How much of a problem am I looking at?
    Best bet would be asking at a few places, or finding somebody handy with a welder!

hmmm.... sort of depends on how "deep" it is.

If its just "surface rust" then maybe you will have enough metal to grind away the rust, but it may leave it too thin. you really need to get rid of ALL trace, all the little black bits before that will be effective.

I'd recommend painting with epoxy mastic at that stage.

Problem wise, well, in my humble opinion - (not trying to scare you because that looks a solid little truck, the b-pillars look great, as does the bed and underscreen panel) rust is about the worst thing that can happen to a car - meachanical stuff is easy to unbolt and rebolt, but once rust takes hold......

Best bet would probably be to get the shell acid dipped and epoxied.... but that cost will make you wince lol