PDA

View Full Version : First Caddy and my brain is humming...

ctzn_smith
20-04-2006, 05:48 PM
Hi,

So I bought Garold's Caddy (White '88 1.6 litre 4 speed) down here in Southampton just as a set of wheels really, but I was pretty hooked by how the caddy looks. He also pointed me in the direction of this forum and reading bits on here has really got my brain buzzing with improvements or ways to sort out current 'niggles'.

The caddy runs pretty well and I can't see myself going near the engine much as I have no experience there, in fact I probably have more enthusiasm than actual skill to be honest, but I know my way around most tools.

Current niggles that I want to get sorted are:

- Rear screen. I need to attack this so I can see through it! Unless anyone has a cheap replacement going spare.

- Tailgate, one side of it needs the (okay I have no idea what it is called, but it's the bit that hinges) welding back on. Also it is currently being opened/held up by means of a nut and bolt. I don't think the latch/opening mechanism is going to be repairable? alternatives? Or does anyone know where I can get a new tailgate?

- I am umming and erring about putting the back bumpers back in place...however I don't have the mounting brackets?

- Call me paranoid but I kind of want a spare wheel...anyone got a spare 15" spare?

- What does the orange switch (that lights up) on the dash do?

- So I have a secondary set of head lamps? any ideas on why they don't seem to work or how to fix them.

- Can someone write an idiots how to, for filling holes and respraying please.

...I think that is just the start, I have so many questions! Currently I am pretty happy driving around and getting lots of stares! If you see a white caddy with a camo bed cover give me a wave! :thumbs_up

P4ulo
20-04-2006, 07:07 PM
are you sure you don't have a spare?
They are tucked up underneath the bed in a cage.

Good luck with your project.
You don't need skills,